Please upgrade your browser

We take your security very seriously. In order to protect you and our systems, we are making changes to all HSBC websites that means some of the oldest web browser versions will no longer be able to access these sites. Generally, the latest versions of a browser (like Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Apple Safari, etc.) and an operating system family (like Microsoft Windows, MacOS) have the most up-to-date security features.

If you are seeing this message, we have detected that you are using an older, unsupported browser.  

See how to update your browser

Introduction

A lot of people find bond investment boring. After all, the volatility range of debt securities tends to be narrower than that of equities, meaning that its potential return is also lower. Yet regardless of your investment approach - be it conservative or aggressive - do always include bonds in your portfolio. Why? Because such asset class may provide relatively steady return, and also balances out the risk of a portfolio.

Investing 101: Introduction to bonds

Bonds can provide potential income regularly and balance the overall risks of a portfolio. They are therefore indispensable in any comprehensive investment portfolio.

What is bond investment?

Bond is a form of loans issued by governments or companies in order to raise funds. Take a bond with a face value of $100, coupon rate 5% and tenor of five years. Its holders can receive $5 of coupon payment in the first four years and another $5 plus the principal the final year.

Advancing loans for regular income

Bond is a form of loans issued by governments or companies in order to raise funds. Such issuers promise to return the principal to investors (bond holders) upon an agreed date (also known as the ‘maturity date’). Before the bond is due, investors are liable to receive coupon payments regularly, which explains why bonds are also called fixed-income products.

Take a bond with a face value of USD100, coupon rate of 5 per cent and tenor of five years. Its holders can receive USD5 of coupon payment in the first four years and another USD5 plus the principal the final year. In the event of bankruptcy of the issuer, bond holders will get paid before stock investors.

Hedging default risks

Credit rating agencies usually grade a bond based on its issuer’s repayment ability. The higher the grade, the better the issuer’s fundamentals, and the lower its default risks. Bonds can be broadly classified into investment grades and non-investment grades. Those rated below BBB- by S&P Global are generally considered non-investment grade debts, or high-yield bonds.

Guard against default risks by heeding credit ratings

Buying a bond means lending to an issuer. Due to financial difficulties or bankruptcy, the issuer might not be able to repay the principal or coupon on time. A situation as such is called ‘default’. Credit rating agencies such as S&P Global, Moody’s, and Fitch Ratings usually grade a bond based on its issuer’s repayment ability. The higher the grade, the better the issuer’s fundamentals. Generally an issuer with lower default risks enjoys lower borrowing costs.

Bonds can be broadly classified into investment grades and non-investment grades. Those rated below BBB- by S&P Global are generally considered non-investment grade debts, or high-yield bonds. With higher default risks, these bonds tend to carry higher coupon rates than better-graded bonds, which is a reflection of their higher risk premium.

Bond prices and interest rates

Bond prices are subject to interest rate changes - they are negatively related. That means when interest rate rises, bond price will drop.

Bond prices seesaw conversely with interest rate changes

The concept of yields is fundamental to bond investment because it measures the return on a particular debt security. The prices of bonds traded on the secondary market are dependent on the dynamics between supply and demand. A bond that sees higher demand will receive stronger inflows. That in turn pushes its prices up and drives down its yields, and vice versa.

Bond prices are also subject to credit ratings and interest rates. They are negatively related to interest rate changes. That means when interest rate rises, bond price will drop. The duration of a bond is likewise important as it indicates the sensitivity of the prices of a bond to interest rate changes. The longer the duration, the higher the volatility of the prices and yields of a bond.

Yield Definition
Nominal Yield The interest that an issuer pays annually as a proportion of a bond measured at face value, also known as coupon rate
Current Yield The expected return of a bond in a year from now. It is calculated by dividing the coupon rate by the current bond price
Yield to Maturity The total anticipated return on a bond held till maturity, normally expressed as an annual rate based on its purchase price
Yield to Worst The lowest potential yield on a bond assuming the issuer does not default

Balance risks with bonds

The volatility of bonds tends to be lower than equities due to their vastly different characteristics. As a result, giving a certain weight to bonds or bond funds within a portfolio helps diversify investment risks and lessen its volatility.

Bond allocation helps a portfolio diversify its risks

In the universe of investment, bonds are generally considered to carry relatively lower risks than equities. Assuming the issuer does not default on its bonds, investors may expect to receive regular interest payments and the principal upon maturity. To lower volatility as much as possible, an investor tend to hold the bond to maturity. Of course there are investors trading on bonds for arbitrage. But since the threshold for bond investment is rather high, a lot of investors tend to gain relevant exposure through buying bond funds, as such strategy helps lower the entrance fee for investing in a basket of bonds.

Although the long-term return of bonds tends to be lower than equities, its volatility is also lower due to its vastly different characteristics. As a result, giving a certain weight to bonds or bond funds within a portfolio helps diversify investment risks and lessen its volatility.

Investing 101: The basics of bond prices, bond yields and duration

When yields rise, bond prices fall. The longer the duration, the more sensitive of the prices to interest rate movements.

 

 

Want to stay connected with us?

Subscribe to our newsletter now
Risk Warning

This page is prepared for general information purposes only and does not have any regard to the specific investment objectives, financial situation and the particular needs of any specific person who may receive it. This page does not constitute an offering document and should not be construed as a recommendation, an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to purchase or subscribe to any investment. Any forecast, projection or target where provided is indicative only and is not guaranteed in any way. HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited (“AMHK”) accepts no liability for any failure to meet such forecast, projection or target. AMHK has based on information obtained from sources it reasonably believes to be reliable. However, AMHK does not warrant, guarantee or represent, expressly or by implication, the accuracy, validity or completeness of such information.

請更新您的瀏覽器

我們非常重視網絡安全性。為了保護您及本行系統,我們將對所有滙豐網站進行改版,因此某些過舊版本的網頁瀏覽器將無法存取該等網站。一般來說,最新版本的瀏覽器 (例如 Edge, Chrome, Safari, 等) 以及作業系統系列 (例如 Microsoft Windows、MacOS) 均附有最新的安全性功能。

如果您看到這則訊息,代表我們偵測到您正在使用的瀏覽器為舊版且不再受到支援。請透過瀏覽器網站將您的瀏覽器更新至最新版本,或於網路上搜尋瀏覽器更新的相關操作。 

了解瀏覽器的更新方式

介绍

提起債券,很多人不其然會覺得沉悶,因為債券的波幅一般低於股票,潛在回報亦相對較低。然而,無論您是保守型抑或是進取型投資者,都應該在投資組合中為債券預留位置,因為債券不僅可以是可靠的收益來源,同時可以平衡投資組合的整體風險。

新手學投資﹕債券的基本概念

債券既可提供潛在的定期收益,同時有助平衡投資組合的整體風險,在一個全面的投資組合中是不可或缺的。

何謂債券投資?

債券是一種貸款,由政府或企業發行,向投資者籌集資金。以一隻面值100元 、票息為5厘、5年後到期的債券為例,債券持有人可在首4年,每年收到5元票息,並在最後一年收到5元票息和100元本金。

借出資金 獲取定期收益

簡單來說,債券是一種貸款,由政府或企業發行,向投資者籌集資金。債券發行人承諾在一段時日後會向投資者(即債券持有人)償還本金,這個日期便是到期日(Maturity)。而在到期日前,投資者可定期獲發票息(Coupon),所以傳統債券又被稱為固定收益產品。

以一隻面值(Face value)100美元 、票息為5厘、5年後到期的債券為例,債券持有人可在首4年,每年收到5美元票息,並在最後一年收到5美元票息和100美元本金。倘若債券發行人破產,投資者的受償次序,會高於其股票持有人。

提防違約風險

評級機構按發行人的償付能力,給予債券不同信貸評級,評級越高,顯示發行人的基本因素越佳,其發行的債券違約風險較低。一般來說,債券可分為投資級別和非投資級別,低於標準普爾BBB-級別的債券,為非投資級別,亦稱為高收益債券。

提防債券違約 認清信貸評級

投資債券就是向發行人借出資金,發行人有可能因財政困難或破產而拖欠還款,如在指定限期未能償還票息或本金,便屬違約。標準普爾、穆迪及惠譽等評級機構,會按發行人的償付能力,給予債券不同信貸評級,評級越高,顯示發行人的基本因素越佳,其發行的債券違約風險較低,能以較低成本集資。

一般來說,債券可分為投資級別和非投資級別,低於標準普爾BBB-級別的債券,為非投資級別,亦稱為高收益債券,這類債券的違約風險相對高評級債券為高,所以提供的票息一般較高,以反映其風險溢價。

債價與息率

債券價格受利率因素影響,其走勢一般與利率呈反向關係:當利率上揚時,債價便會下跌。

債券搖搖板 價格升息率跌

投資債券一定要懂得收益率,因為這是量度債券回報的工具。二手的債券價格取決於市場供求,當需求上升,資金流入債券推升價格,息率則隨之下降,反之亦然。

另外,債券價格同時受信貸評級和利率因素影響,其走勢一般與利率呈反向關係:當利率上揚時,債價便會下跌。而存續期(Duration)正是量度債價對利率的敏感度的指標:存續期越長,債價及債息的波動性會越大。

收益率 定義
名義收益率 (Nominal Yield) 發行人按債券面值每年派發利息的比率,亦被稱為票息 (Coupon Rate)
現時收益率 (Current Yield) 現時買入債券,並持有一年的預期回報率,即債券現時票息除以債券價格
到期收益率 (Yield to Maturity) 以特定買入價計算,持至債券到期的預期回報率。一般會以年回報率表達
最低收益率 (Yield to Worst) 若債券沒有違約,持有人可以獲得的最低潛在回報率

以債券平衡風險

債券的特性與股票截然不同,而且波動性亦往往低於股票。因此,在投資組合當中配置一定比重的債券及債券基金,能有助分散投資風險,並降低組合的波動性。

配置債券 調和組合風險

在投資世界,債券通常被視為風險較股票低的資產,倘若債券沒有違約,投資者可在到期前定期收取利息,並且在到期時收回本金。故此,希望將波動降至最低的投資者,會買入債券後持有至到期,當然,也有投資者會買賣債券,從而賺取差價。然而,投資債券的入場門檻通常較高,因此很多投資者亦會透過債券基金,以較低的入場費來投資一籃子的債券。

雖然債券的長期潛在回報低於股票,但是其特性與股票截然不同,而且波動性亦往往低於股票。因此,在投資組合當中配置一定比重的債券及債券基金,能有助分散投資風險,並降低組合的波動性。

新手學投資﹕了解債券價格、債息及存續期

收益率與債券價格呈反向關係,而當存續期越長,債價對利率的變動越敏感。

更多相關內容

 

想緊貼我們的最新資訊?

立即訂閱我們的每週投資快訊
風險提示

本文件只提供一般性資料,並不針對任何可能收到本文件的人士的具體投資目標、財務狀況和特別需求。本文件並非銷售文件,且不構成建議、要約出售或招攬購買或認購任何投資。本文件所載任何預測、預計或目標僅供説明用途,且並非任何形式的保證。滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司(「滙豐投資管理」)就預測、預計或目標未能達成概不承擔任何責任。本文件內的資料乃取自滙豐投資管理合理地相信可靠的來源。然而,無論明示或暗示,滙豐投資管理不保證、擔保或代表本文件內該等資料的準確性、有效性或完整性。