Please upgrade your browser

We take your security very seriously. In order to protect you and our systems, we are making changes to all HSBC websites that means some of the oldest web browser versions will no longer be able to access these sites. Generally, the latest versions of a browser (like Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Apple Safari, etc.) and an operating system family (like Microsoft Windows, MacOS) have the most up-to-date security features.

If you are seeing this message, we have detected that you are using an older, unsupported browser.  

See how to update your browser

Six ways to handle market volatility

Download the full reportPDF, 335KB 

1. Lower portfolio volatilities through diversification

Diversifying your portfolio with assets of different attributes helps lower the overall volatility of your investments and balance performances. Diversification within the same asset class is possible too. They key is to understand the different risk attributes of different assets with regard to the industries and regions they belong to.

Lower portfolio volatilities through diversification

2. Create compounding effects with long-term investment

A lot of investors make frequent trades in the market with the principle of “buy low, sell high.” But the method often turns out to be counterproductive and results in increased transaction costs. A better suggested approach is to use the dollar cost averaging, meaning to enter the market in sequence and reinvest all stock dividends. The results? Effects of accrued compound interest.

Create compounding effects with long-term investment

3. Place emphasis on quality during market downturn

Amid market volatility, companies with robust financials can generally maintain cashflow and dividend payout, which helps stabilise their share prices. Same for bond issuers. Those with better credit quality have relatively low default risks even when operation conditions worsen.

Place emphasis on quality during market downturn

4. Market fickleness is the norm – get used to it

US stock markets have tumbled over 10% from a 52-week high for 10 times in the last 20 years. Market correction is actually not fearful. On the contrary, it could make valuations more attractive and creates buying opportunities.

Market fickleness is the norm – get used to it

5. Stick to investment goals and don’t bite off more than you can chew

Don’t let short-term volatility disrupt your investment plans. Neither should you buy individual stocks just because their prices drop a lot. You should try to understand your risk appetite and financial conditions, avoid biting off more than you can chew.

Stick to investment goals and don’t bite off more than you can chew

6. Pay attention to disruptors in the markets

While dealing with market volatilities, always pay attention to market changes, especially long-term trends that could potentially disrupt the global economy. Only through active preparation for the next economic cycle can one seize opportunities unanticipated by others.

Pay attention to disruptors in the markets

Disclaimer

This document is prepared for general information purposes only and does not have any regard to the specific investment objectives, financial situation and the particular needs of any specific person who may receive it. Any views and opinions expressed are subject to change without notice. This document does not constitute an offering document and should not be construed as a recommendation, an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to purchase or subscribe to any investment. Any forecast, projection or target where provided is indicative only and is not guaranteed in any way. HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited (“AMHK”) accepts no liability for any failure to meet such forecast, projection or target. AMHK has based this document on information obtained from sources it reasonably believes to be reliable. However, AMHK does not warrant, guarantee or represent, expressly or by implication, the accuracy, validity or completeness of such information. Investment involves risk. Past performance is not indicative of future performance. Please refer to the offering document for further details including the risk factors. This document has not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission.

Copyright © HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited 2020. All rights reserved. This document is issued by HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited.

請更新您的瀏覽器

我們非常重視網絡安全性。為了保護您及本行系統,我們將對所有滙豐網站進行改版,因此某些過舊版本的網頁瀏覽器將無法存取該等網站。一般來說,最新版本的瀏覽器 (例如 Internet Explorer、Google Chrome、Apple Safari 等) 以及作業系統系列 (例如 Microsoft Windows、MacOS) 均附有最新的安全性功能。

如果您看到這則訊息,代表我們偵測到您正在使用的瀏覽器為舊版且不再受到支援。請透過瀏覽器網站將您的瀏覽器更新至最新版本,或於網路上搜尋瀏覽器更新的相關操作。 

了解瀏覽器的更新方式

應對變幻市況的六大心法

下載全文PDF, 335KB

1 – 分散投資 降低組合波幅

分散投資於性質不同的資產,有助互補表現,降低整體波幅。即使是同一資產類別亦可多元分散,竅門在於了解光譜當中不同風險屬性(如行業和地區)的資產。

分散投資   降低組合波幅

2 – 持續投資 發揮複式效應

不少投資者頻密進出市場為的是要低買高沽,但往往事與願違,徒增交易成本。更理想的做法是利用平均成本法分段入市,並持續將股息再作投資,以享受複息效應的威力。

持續投資 發揮複式效應

3 – 逆境之下 質素至上

在波動市況中,財政狀況理想的股票一般能夠維持現金流和派息,有助穩定價格表現。同樣道理,在經營環境轉壞的情況下,信貸質素較佳的債券的違約風險較低。

逆境之下 質素至上

4 – 變幻原是永恒 市場波動方為常態

在過去20年,美國股市經歷過十次,從52周高位回落逾10%的跌市。因此,市場調整並不可怕,而且調整往往令資產估值變得吸引,造就入市良機。

變幻原是永恒 市場波動方為常態

5 – 堅守個人目標,量力而為

別讓短期波幅阻礙原有的投資目標,亦不要因個別資產的價格大幅回調而盲目追入,需要了解自己的風險偏好與條件,並且量力而為。

堅守個人目標,量力而為

6 – 時刻留意顛覆市場的因素

即使處身波動市況當中,仍要時刻留意市場變化,尤其要認清一些能夠顛覆全球經濟的長期趨勢,為下一個週期來臨作好準備,才能早着先機。

時刻留意顛覆市場的因素

免責聲明

本文件只提供一般性資料,並不針對任何可能收到本文件的人士的具體投資目標、財務狀況和特別需求。在此表達之意見可因應情況修改而不作另行通知。本文件並非銷售文件,且不構成建議、要約出售或招 攬購買或認購任何投資。本文件所載任何預測、預計或目標僅供説明用途,且並非任何形式的保證。滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司(「滙豐環球投資管理」)就預測、預計或目標未能達成概不承擔任何責 任。本文件內的資料乃取自滙豐環球投資管理合理地相信可靠的來源。然而,無論明示或暗示,滙豐環球投資管理不保證、擔保或代表本文件內該等資料的準確性、有效性或完整性。投資附帶風險,過去的業 績並不代表將來的表現。請參閱銷售文件以便獲取其它資料,包括風險因素。此文件並未經證券及期貨事務監察委員會批閱。

版權 © HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited (滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司)2020。版權所有。本文件由HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited(滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司)刊發。