Please upgrade your browser

We take your security very seriously. In order to protect you and our systems, we are making changes to all HSBC websites that means some of the oldest web browser versions will no longer be able to access these sites. Generally, the latest versions of a browser (like Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Apple Safari, etc.) and an operating system family (like Microsoft Windows, MacOS) have the most up-to-date security features.

If you are seeing this message, we have detected that you are using an older, unsupported browser.  

See how to update your browser

Hedge fund basics

Download PDF 中文, PDF, 1.30MB

What are hedge funds?

Hedge funds employ non-traditional strategies including long and short positions, leveraging, arbitrage, swaps, etc. to manage risk and enhance potential return. Global estimated assets under management of the industry in 2020 sat at USD3.36 trillion. 1

A comparsion between mutual funds and hedge funds

A comparsion between mutual funds and hedge funds

1 Source: eVestment, data as of end of 2020.

Key features of hedge funds

  • Adapt to various market conditions: By employing long-short strategies, it is possible for hedge funds to manage the ups and downs of the market cycles and profit in rising or falling market conditions. These strategies may provide potential downside protection against market crash and demonstrate better performances during market downturns.
  • Diversify investment risks: Hedge funds can act as complement to traditional assets such as stocks and bonds in a portfolio and aim to achieve more steady return. With a wide range of investment tools and strategies and more flexible investment rules, hedge funds tend to have lower correlation to traditional assets and provide returns regardless of market movements, resulting in lower volatility of the overall portfolio.
Key features of hedge funds

* Maximum drawdown measures the largest drop from peak to bottom in the value of a portfolio before a new peak is attained. For illustrative purposes only.
Source: AIMA Research, data as of April 2020.

Hedge funds exhibit lower sensitivity to global equity market

Source: MSCI, Hedge Fund Research, FTSE and Mercer Calculations. Beta estimated using monthly returns in excess of the risk free rate, FTSE 3-month T-Bills as of end of 2019.


Truth: Hedge funds can employ different strategies (e.g. long and short positions) to contain loss during market downturn. Therefore, hedge funds are theoretically less volatile than traditional long-only funds.

Myth 1: High volatility?

Source: AIMA Research, data as of April 2020. For illustrative purposes only.

Truth: Use of leverage is common among hedge funds with an aim to enhance potential portfolio returns. The amount of leverage used by different hedge fund strategies can vary substantially, but it is generally lower than that of broker-dealers and insurance companies.

Myth 2: High leverage?

Source: AIMA Research (2016), leverage range based on various prime broker estimates over 2014 to 2016.

Truth: Hedge fund is not about making ultra-high returns, but rather about achieving potential returns with lower volatility by employing various strategies in different market cycles. Historical data suggest that performance of hedge funds lay between global equities and government bonds over the long term.

Myth 3: Ultra-high return?

Source: HSBC Alternative Investments Limited, Bloomberg. Data as of February 2021.

Common strategies of hedge funds

Hedge funds are fund pools that aim to achieve potential returns by employing flexible investment strategies such as:

Common strategies of hedge funds

Source: HSBC Asset Management. For illustrative purposes only.

Major risks of investing in hedge funds

Major risks of investing in hedge funds

Longer time horizon for hedge fund strategies

Some of the hedge fund strategies such as event driven and distress debt may impose lock-up periods and restriction on redemption according to their needs, as they may invest in non-traditional assets with lower liquidity, employ higher leverage levels or invest with a more concentrated portfolio. Therefore, a longer-term investment horizon would be more suitable for hedge funds strategies.

Longer time horizon for hedge fund strategies

Source: AIMA and Chartered Alternative Investment Analyst Association (CAIA) research, 2017 data.

Advantages of funds of hedge funds

Hedge funds have unique advantages and risks compared to mutual funds. A fund of hedge funds is a basket of hedge funds in which investors may leverage on fund manager’s professional risk management to achieve strategic allocation and the longterm goal of capital growth.

Advantages of funds of hedge funds

Disclaimer

The value of investments and the income from them can go down as well as up and investors may not get back the amount originally invested. The capital invested in the fund can increase or decrease and is not guaranteed. The performance figures contained in this document relate to past performance, which should not be seen as an indication of future returns. Future returns will depend, inter alia, on market conditions, fund manager’s skill, fund risk level and fees. Where overseas investments are held the rate of currency exchange may cause the value of such investments to go down as well as up. Investments in emerging markets are by their nature higher risk and potentially more volatile than those inherent in some established markets. Economies in Emerging Markets generally are heavily dependent upon international trade and, accordingly, have been and may continue to be affected adversely by trade barriers, exchange controls, managed adjustments in relative currency values and other protectionist measures imposed or negotiated by the countries and territories with which they trade. These economies also have been and may continue to be affected adversely by economic conditions in the countries and territories in which they trade. Mutual fund investments are subject to market risks, read all scheme related documents carefully.

The contents of this document may not be reproduced or further distributed to any person or entity, whether in whole or in part, for any purpose. All non-authorised reproduction or use of this document will be the responsibility of the user and may lead to legal proceedings. The material contained in this document is for general information purposes only and does not constitute advice or a recommendation to buy or sell investments. Some of the statements contained in this document may be considered forward looking statements which provide current expectations or forecasts of future events. Such forward looking statements are not guarantees of future performance or events and involve risks and uncertainties. Actual results may differ materially from those described in such forward-looking statements as a result of various factors. We do not undertake any obligation to update the forward-looking statements contained herein, or to update the reasons why actual results could differ from those projected in the forward-looking statements. This document has no contractual value and is not by any means intended as a solicitation, nor a recommendation for the purchase or sale of any financial instrument in any jurisdiction in which such an offer is not lawful. The views and opinions expressed herein are those of HSBC Asset Management at the time of preparation, and are subject to change at any time. These views may not necessarily indicate current portfolios’ composition. Individual portfolios managed by HSBC Asset Management primarily reflect individual clients’ objectives, risk preferences, time horizon, and market liquidity.

All data from HSBC Asset Management unless otherwise specified. Any third party information has been obtained from sources we believe to be reliable, but which we have not independently verified.

This document has not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission.

HSBC Asset Management is the brand name for the asset management business of HSBC Group. The above communication is distributed by HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited.

Copyright © HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited 2021. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, on any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without the prior written permission of HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited.

請更新您的瀏覽器

我們非常重視網絡安全性。為了保護您及本行系統,我們將對所有滙豐網站進行改版,因此某些過舊版本的網頁瀏覽器將無法存取該等網站。一般來說,最新版本的瀏覽器 (例如 Internet Explorer、Google Chrome、Apple Safari 等) 以及作業系統系列 (例如 Microsoft Windows、MacOS) 均附有最新的安全性功能。

如果您看到這則訊息,代表我們偵測到您正在使用的瀏覽器為舊版且不再受到支援。請透過瀏覽器網站將您的瀏覽器更新至最新版本,或於網路上搜尋瀏覽器更新的相關操作。 

了解瀏覽器的更新方式

對沖基金入門

閱覽PDF版本 中文, PDF, 1.86MB

甚麼是對沖基金?

對沖基金採用非傳統的策略,包括長倉、短倉、槓桿、套戥、掉期等,藉此管理風險
及提升潛在回報。2020年環球對沖基金管理的資產規模估計達3.36萬億美元。1

互惠基金與對沖基金的分別

互惠基金與對沖基金的分別

1 資料來源:Evestment,截至2020年底。

對沖基金的特點

  • 部署不同市況﹕對沖基金的長短倉策略可應對市場週期的不同情況,不論升市或跌市均有獲利機會,或有助抗衡跌市的衝擊,在跌市中發揮更大優勢。
  • 分散投資風險﹕在投資組合中加入對沖基金,有助與股票及債券等傳統資產發揮互補優勢,目標令組合回報較平穩。由於對沖基金投資工具及策略廣泛,投資限制較少,故此與傳統資產的相關性亦較低,較不受市場走勢影響,有助降低整體組合的波幅。
對沖基金的特點

* 最大跌幅是指投資組合在達到下一個新高值前,由最高位至最低位的跌幅。
資料來源︰AIMA研究,截至2020年4月。

對沖基金對環球股市的敏感度低

資料來源︰MSCI ,Hedge Fund Research ,富時及Mercer統計;以高於無風險利率(富時指數3個月短期國庫券)的每月回報估算啤 打系數,數據截至2019年底。


事實:對沖基金可以採取多種策略(例如長短倉策略),以限制跌市時的損失,故此其波幅理論上比傳統的長倉基金為低。

迷思一︰高波幅?

資料來源︰AIMA研究,截至2020年4月。僅供參考。

事實:對沖基金很多時會運用槓桿操作來提升組合回報。不同策略的對沖基金的槓桿水平各有高低,但普遍仍較一些金融行業如投資銀行或保險公司為低。

迷思二︰高槓桿?

資料來源︰AIMA研究(2016),數據來自主要經紀商2014年至2016年間的估計。

事實:對沖基金並非旨在爭取超高回報,而是利用各種策略從而在不同的市場週期中均能爭取回報和減低波幅。歷史數據顯示,對沖基金的長線表現介乎股票與政府債券之間。

迷思三︰超高回報?

資料來源︰HSBC Alternative Investments Limited、彭博,截至2021年2月。

對沖基金常見策略

對沖基金運用集合得來的資金,靈活地採取不同的投資策略來爭取潛在投資回報,常見的策略如下:

對沖基金常見策略

資料來源:滙豐投資管理。僅供說明

投資對沖基金的主要風險

投資對沖基金的主要風險

對沖策略適合較長線的投資年期

部分對沖基金的策略如事件主導及受壓證券策略,可能投資於流動性較低的非傳統資產,或者涉及較高槓桿操作及較集中的持倉,故此對沖基金會因應其策略需要,設立如鎖定期及贖回期次數等限制,以確保投資策略不受頻繁的資金進出影響,因此會適合於較長線的投資年期。

對沖策略適合較長線的投資年期

資料來源︰AIMA及特許另類投資分析師協會(CAIA) 研究,2017年數據。

投資對沖基金中的基金的優點

與互惠基金相比,對沖基金有其獨特優勢,同時亦涉及不同風險。投資於包含一系列對沖基金的「對沖基金中的基金」(Fund of hedge funds) ,可借助基金經理的專業化管理來控制風險,從而達到策略性配置和爭取增值的長遠目標。

投資對沖基金中的基金的優點

免責聲明

投資價值及所得收益可升亦可跌,投資者有機會未能取回投資本金。本文所載之過去業績並不代表將來的表現。本文所載之任何預測、估計及模擬均不應被視為將來表現的指標。任何涉及海外市場的投資,均有機會受到滙率兌換所影響而令投資價值上升或下跌。與已發展市場相比,新興市場投資涉及較高風險,而且較為波動。新興市場經濟體系一般大為依賴國際貿易,同時或會繼續受到貿易關卡、外滙管制、相對其他貨幣訂立的管制性調整,以及由貿易國訂立或提出的其他保護性措施所帶來的負面影響。而此等經濟體系亦會或繼續受到其他貿易國的經濟狀況的負面影響。互惠基金投資涉及市場風險,請細閱相關的文件。

無論基於任何原因,本文件所載之部分或全部內容均不得複製或進一步發放予任何人士或實體。所有未經允許之複製或使用本文件,均屬使用者的責任,並有機會引致法律訴訟。本文件只提供一般性資料,文件內所載的觀點,不應被視為出售或購入投資產品的意見或建議。文件內所載的部分陳述可能會被視為前瞻性陳述,並提供目前預測或未來的事件預估。相關的前瞻性陳述對未來表現或事件概不作出保證,並涉及風險及不確定性。基於多項因素,實際結果可能與相關前瞻性陳述大不相同。我們對更新本文件內的前瞻性陳述,或對提供實際結果與前瞻性陳述的預測不同的原因,不作出任何承諾。本文件並無契約效力,在任何情況下,於任何司法管轄範圍內均不應被視為促銷或建議購入或出售任何金融工具,如此等建議並不合法。本文所載之內容只反映滙豐投資管理於製作本文件時之觀點及意見,並會不時轉變。這些觀點並不一定代表目前的投資組合分布。滙豐投資管理所管理的個別投資組合主要反映個別客戶的目標、風險取向、投資期限及市場流動性。

我們對於任何第三方資料的準確性及╱或完整性所引致的損失概不負責。有關資料乃取自我們相信可靠的來源,然而我們並無作出獨立查證。

此文件並未經證券及期貨事務監察委員會批閱。

滙豐投資管理是滙豐集團資產管理業務的公司名稱。於香港,上述資訊由HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited(滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司)刊發。

版權© HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited(滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司)2021。版權所有。在未得到滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司書面同意前,不得將本文件內容複製、儲存於檢索系統,或以任何形式或任何方法,包括電子、機械、影印、錄音或其他方式發放。